Detroit Tigers

  Detroit Tigers  

Tigers Timeline


Detroit Tigers Team Formation

The current Detroit club was a charter member when the Western League reorganized for the 1894 season. They originally played at Boulevard Park, sometimes called League Park. It was located on East Lafayette, then called Champlain Street, between Helen and East Grand Boulevard, near Belle Isle. In 1895, owner George Vanderbeck decided to build Bennett Park at the corner of Michigan and Trumbull Avenues, which would remain their base of operations for the next 104 seasons. The first game at the corner was an exhibition on April 13, 1896. The team, now occasionally called the "Tigers", beat a local semi-pro team, known as the Athletics, by a score of 30-3.

Ty Cobb Acquired

In 1905, the team acquired Ty Cobb, a fearless player with a mean streak, who came to be regarded as one of the greatest players of all time. The addition of Cobb to an already talented team that included Sam Crawford, Hughie Jennings, Bill Donovan and George Mullin quickly yielded results, as the Tigers won their first American League pennant in 1907.

World Series Winners - 4 World Series Wins

World Series - 1984
The 1984 World Series began on October 9 and ended on October 14, 1984. The American League champion Detroit Tigers played against the National League champion San Diego Padres, with the Tigers winning the series four games to one. This was the first World Series that Peter Ueberroth presided over as commissioner. Ueberroth began his tenure on October 1, succeeding Bowie Kuhn. Ueberroth had been elected as Kuhn's successor prior to the 1984 season, but did not take over until the postseason as he was serving as the chairman of the 1984 Summer Olympics, which ran from July 28 through August 12.

World Series - 1968
The 1968 World Series featured the defending champion St. Louis Cardinals against the Detroit Tigers, with the Tigers winning in seven games for their first championship since 1945, and the third in their history. The Tigers came back from a 3-1 deficit to win three in a row, largely on the arm of MVP Mickey Lolich, who won three complete games in a single World Series, a feat that has not been duplicated since. In his third appearance in the Series, Lolich had to pitch after only two days rest in the deciding Game 7, because regular-season 31-game winner Denny McLain was moved up to game 6 also on two days rest. In Game 5, the Tigers hopes for the title would have been very much in jeopardy had Bill Freehan not tagged out Lou Brock in a home plate collision when Brock elected not to slide and went in standing up.

World Series - 1945
The 1945 World Series matched the American League Detroit Tigers against the National League Chicago Cubs. The Tigers won the Series, four games to three, giving them their second championship and first since 1935.

World Series - 1935
The 1935 World Series featured the Detroit Tigers and the Chicago Cubs, with the Tigers winning in six games for their first championship in five Series appearances.

Mike Illitch New Owner

Mike Ilitch purchased the Detroit Tigers in 1992 from fellow pizza magnate Tom Monaghan the founder of Domino's Pizza for baseball was a sport that he had played as a youth. Under his ownership, the Tigers logged losing records in twelve out of thirteen seasons before their turnaround in 2006.

After acquiring the team, Ilitch clearly expressed interest in moving the struggling team to a new ballpark. In 2000, his expectations were realized when the team moved from Tiger Stadium into the newly built Comerica Park. He financed approximately 60% of the $350 million facility; the taxpayers of the greater Detroit-Wayne County and federal grants covered the balance. Various Ilitch Holdings, Inc., enterprises manage and operate Comerica Park and its concessions.

Opening Comerica Park

Comerica Park is an open-air ballpark located in Downtown Detroit. It serves as the home of the Detroit Tigers of Major League Baseball, replacing historic Tiger Stadium in 2000.

The park is named after Comerica Bank, which was founded in Detroit and was based there when the park opened. Comerica's headquarters have since been moved to Dallas, though the bank still retains a large presence in Detroit. The stadium's seating capacity is 41,255. There is a Detroit People Mover station about a block from the stadium (at Grand Circus Park). Comerica Park sits on the original site of the Detroit College of Law.

Tigers Primary Logo History Tigers Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History


Tigers - The earliest known use of the name Detroit Tigers in the news was in the Detroit Free Press on April 16, 1895. Another legend concerns a sportswriter equating the 1901 team's opening day victory with the ferocity of his alma mater, the Princeton Tigers.

Comerica Park
2000 - present
Tiger Stadium
1912 - 1999
  • Briggs Stadium
  • 1938 - 1960
  • Navin Field
  • 1912 - 1938

Bennett Park
1896 - 1911
Boulevard Park
1894 - 1895

Mike Ilitch
1992 - present
Tom Monaghan
1983 -1992
John Fetzer
1961 - 1983
Fred Knorr & John Fetzer
1956 - 1961
Walter Briggs, Jr.
1952 - 1956
Walter Briggs, Sr.
1935 - 1952
Frank Navin
1919 - 1935
Bill Yawkey & Frank Navin
1908 - 1919
Bill Yawkey
1903 - 1908
Samuel F. Angus
1902 - 1903
James D. Burns
1901 - 1902
George Vanderbeck
1894 - 1900

Established: 1894

League History:
Major League Baseball
2000 - present
American League
1901 - 1999
Western League
1894 - 1901

Team History:
Detroit Tigers
1894 - present

World Series: 4
1984, 1968, 1945, 1935

Retired Numbers:
2 Charlie Gehringer
5 Hank Greenberg
6 Al Kaline
11 Sparky Anderson
16 Hal Newhouser
23 Willie Horton
42 Jackie Robinson
- Ty Cobb
- Ernie Harwell

Mascots: 1995 - present

The Official Site of the Detroit Tigers

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code