San Francisco Warriors

San Francisco Warriors

Warriors Timeline


Philadelphia Warriors Team Formation

The Warriors were founded in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors, a charter member of the Basketball Association of America. They were owned by Peter Tyrrell and Steven Kim, who also owned the Philadelphia Rockets of the American Hockey League. Tyrell hired Eddie Gottlieb, a longtime basketball promoter in the Philadelphia area, as coach and general manager. He named the team after an early professional team in the city.

Move to San Francisco

In 1962, Franklin Mieuli purchased the majority shares of the team and relocated the franchise to the San Francisco Bay Area, renaming them the San Francisco Warriors. The Warriors played most of their home games at the Cow Palace in Daly City (the facility lies just south of the San Francisco border) from 1962 - 1964 and the San Francisco Civic Auditorium from 1964 - 1966, though occasionally playing home games in nearby cities such as Oakland and San Jose. The Warriors won the 1963 - 1964 Western Division crown, losing the NBA championship series to the Boston Celtics, four games to one.

Renamed as Golden State

They renamed themselves the Golden State Warriors for the 1971 - 1972 season, and played almost all their home games in Oakland. Six "home" games were played in San Diego during that season but more significantly, none were played in San Francisco or Daly City.

Jim Fitzgerald Ownership

In 1986, Jim Fitzgerald and Dan Finnane, who had also been involved with the Bucks, took over the Golden State Warriors, which they owned through 1995. At the time he owned each of these teams, Fitzgerald had only a "handshake agreement" with Don Nelson, head coach of both teams in turn, not a contract, an arrangement which reflected the friendship and trust between them. In an era of lawsuits and countersuits, this “contract” was unique in professional sports. In 1997, 50 years after he graduated, the Fitzgerald family donated funds to build a new sports and communications center and press box at Notre Dame Stadium.

Guber and a New Arena Coming

Peter Guber serves as the Co-Executive Chairman of the Golden State Warriors. As co-managing partner, he joined Joe Lacob as the driving forces behind the current ownership group’s NBA record-setting bid to purchase the Warriors in 2010.

Consultant Marc Ganis said of the purchase, “This could be one of the most valuable teams in the NBA.” The Golden State Warriors won the 2014 Sports Business Journal Award for Team of the Year, saying the team “continued a sharp trajectory in 2013 under owners Joe Lacob and Peter Guber that produced strong, extensive on- and off-court gains,”

Guber and Lacob agreed to buy 12 acres of land in San Francisco's Mission Bay neighborhood to build a privately financed new arena. The move would mark the Warrior’s return to a home arena in San Francisco (from Oakland) for the first time in more than four decades. Opening is targeted for the 2018 - 2019 season.

New Version of Logo

They also introduced a modernized version of their "The City" logo depicting the new eastern span of the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge, and returned to the original colors of royal blue and gold. They also introduced new uniforms reminiscent of the 1960s "The City" uniforms.

Warriors Primary Logo History Warriors Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History

Philadelphia - San Francisco - Oakland

Warriors - Historical connection with the Delaware Indians who inhabited the Philadelphia area before British Colonist displaced them.

Oracle Arena
2006 - present
  • Oakland Arena
  • 2005 - 2006
  • The Arena in Oakland
  • 1997 - 2005
  • Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum Arena
  • 1971 - 1996

*San Francisco*
Cow Palace
1966 - 1971
San Francisco Civic Auditorium &
USF War Memorial Gymnasium
1964 - 1966
Cow Palace 
1962 - 1964

Philadelphia Convention Hall
1952 - 1962
Philadelphia Arena
1946 - 1962

Peter Guber and Joe Lacob
2010 - present
Chris Cohan
1995 - 2010
Jim Fitzgerald
1986 - 1995
Franklin Mieuli
1962 - 1986

Eddie Gottlieb
1952 - 1962
Pete Tyrell
1946 - 1952

Established: 1946

League History:
National Basketball Association
1949 - present

Basketball Association of America 
1946 - 1949

Team History:
Golden State Warriors
1971 - present
San Francisco Warriors
1962 - 1971

Philadelphia Warriors
1946 - 1962

NBA Championships: 3
2015, 1975, 1956
Basketball Association of America: 1

Retired Numbers:
13 Wilt Chamberlain
14 Tom Meschery
16 Al Attles

17 Chris Mullin
24 Rick Barry
42 Nate Thurmond

  *Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code