Kansas City Chiefs

Kansas City Chiefs  


Chiefs Timeline


Dallas Texans Team Formation

The NFL turned him down, so Hunt then established the American Football League and started his own team, the Dallas Texans, to begin play in 1960. Hunt hired a little-known assistant coach from the University of Miami football team, Hank Stram, to be the team's head coach. Hunt chose Stram after the offer was declined by Bud Wilkinson and Tom Landry. The Texans shared the Cotton Bowl with the NFL's cross-town competition Dallas Cowboys for three seasons. While the team averaged a league-best 24,500 at the Cotton Bowl, the Texans gained less attention due to the league's relatively unknown existence.

Moving to Kansas City

Hunt agreed to relocate the franchise to Kansas City on May 22, 1963 and on May 26 the team was renamed the Kansas City Chiefs. Hunt and head coach Hank Stram initially planned on retaining the Texans name, but a fan contest determined the new "Chiefs" name in honor of Mayor Bartle's nickname that he acquired in his professional role as Scout Executive of the St. Joseph and Kansas City Boy Scout Councils and founder of the Scouting Society, the Tribe of Mic-O-Say. A total of 4,866 entries were received with 1,020 different names being suggested, including a total of 42 entrants who selected "Chiefs." The two names that received the most popular votes were "Mules" and "Royals."

Super Bowl Name

The franchise became one of the strongest teams in the now thriving American Football League, with the most playoff appearances for an AFL team (tied with the Oakland Raiders), and the most AFL Championships (three). The team's dominance helped Lamar Hunt become a central figure in negotiations with NFL Commissioner Pete Rozelle to agree on an AFL–NFL merger. In the meetings between the two leagues, a merged league championship game was agreed to be played in January 1967 following the conclusion of the leagues' respective 1966 seasons. Hunt insisted on calling the game the "Super Bowl" after seeing his children playing with a popular toy at the time, a Super Ball. While the first few games were designated the "AFL–NFL World Championship Game," the Super Bowl name became its officially licensed title in years to come.

Super Bowl Winner

Super Bowl IV - 1970
Super Bowl IV, the fourth AFL-NFL World Championship Game in professional American football, was played on January 11, 1970, at Tulane Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana. The American Football League (AFL) champion Kansas City Chiefs defeated the National Football League (NFL) champion Minnesota Vikings by the score of 23–7. This victory by the AFL squared the Super Bowl series with the NFL at two games apiece. This was also the final AFL-NFL World Championship Game before the two leagues merged into one after the season.

Move to Arrowhead Stadium

In 1972, the Chiefs moved into the newly constructed Arrowhead Stadium at the Truman Sports Complex outside of Downtown Kansas City. The team's first game at Arrowhead was against the St. Louis Cardinals, a game which the Chiefs won 24–14.

Arrowhead Stadium in Kansas City, Missouri, is home to the NFL's Kansas City Chiefs. Part of the Truman Sports Complex, together with Kauffman Stadium, it is the 28th largest stadium in North America and fifth largest NFL stadium in seating capacity, behind AT&T Stadium, Lambeau Field, MetLife Stadium, and FedExField. It is the largest sports facility by capacity in the state of Missouri. A $375 million renovation was completed in 2010.

Lamar Hunt Passes Away

Lamar Hunt died December 13, 2006 at Presbyterian Hospital in Dallas of complications related to prostate cancer. The Chiefs honored their owner for the remainder of the season, as did the rest of the league. Upon his death his son Clark Hunt was named chairman of the Kansas City Chiefs.

Chiefs Primary Logo History No Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History

Dallas - Kansas City

Chiefs - Some of the rejected names included the Mules, the Stars and the Royals. Owner Lamar Hunt picked Chiefs as a nickname to honor Kansas City mayor Roe “The Chief” Bartle for his efforts in securing the team. Bartle promised to enlarge Kansas City’s Municipal Stadium and guaranteed Hunt three times as many season ticket sales as his club had in Dallas.

Arrowhead Stadium
1972 - present
Municipal Stadium
1963 - 1971

Cotton Bowl
1960 - 1962

Hunt family, led by Clark Hunt
2006 - present
Lamar Hunt
1960 - 2006

Established: 1960

League History:
National Football League
1970 - present
American Football League 
1960 - 1970

Team History:
Kansas City Chiefs
1963 - present

Dallas Texans
1960 - 1962

Super Bowl: 1
AFL Championships: 1

Retired Numbers:
3 Jan Stenerud
16 Len Dawson
18 Emmitt Thomas

28 Abner Haynes
33 Stone Johnson
36 Mack Lee Hill
58 Derrick Thomas
63 Willie Lanier
78 Bobby Bell
86 Buck Buchanan

Mascots: 1996 - present

The Official Site of the Kansas City Chiefs

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code