Miami Heat

  Miami Heat  

Heat Timeline


Miami Heat Team Formation

In Florida, a state at the time without an NBA franchise, groups from Orlando, Tampa/St. Petersburg and Miami all vied to land franchises. The Miami Sports and Exhibition Authority eventually endorsed a group led by NBA Hall of Famer Billy Cunningham and former sports agent and lifelong friend of Cunningham's Lewis Schaffel, who received their financial backing from Carnival Cruise Lines founder Ted Arison, who would be majority owner. Day-to-day operations would be handled by minority shareholders Cunningham and Schaffel. In April 1987, the NBA expansion committee endorsed the bids of the cities of Charlotte and Minneapolis. However, the committee was split between awarding the third and final franchise to Miami or Orlando, causing representatives from both cities to toss barbs at the other. Finally, it was decided that the NBA would expand by 4 teams, with the Charlotte Hornets and Miami Heat debuting for the 1988 - 1989 season and the Minnesota Timberwolves and Orlando Magic beginning for the 1989 - 1990 season.

Micky Arison Steps In

With a losing record for the franchise and lack of identity or brand recognition, Lewis Schaffel and Billy Cunningham decided to sell their interest in the team. Micky Arison, son of franchise patriarch Ted Arison, stepped forward to purchase a controlling interest in the Heat on February 13, 1995 ceding control of the franchise to his family.

James and Bosh Added

Entering the 2010 - 2011 season with nearly $48 million in salary cap space, the Heat caused a major power shift during the blockbuster 2010 NBA Free Agency, adding Chris Bosh and LeBron James with local superstar Dwyane Wade, whom they had re-signed to a six-year, $107.59 million contract.

NBA Finals Winners - 3 NBA Finals Wins

NBA Finals - 2013
The 2013 NBA Finals was the championship series of the 2012 - 2013 NBA season and the conclusion of the season's playoffs. The Eastern Conference champion Miami Heat defeated the Western Conference champion San Antonio Spurs to win their second straight title. The Finals began with Game 1 on June 6, and ended with Game 7 on June 20.

NBA Finals - 2012
The 2012 NBA Finals was the championship series of the 2011 - 2012 season of the National Basketball Association (NBA), and the conclusion of the season's playoffs. The Eastern Conference champion Miami Heat defeated the Western Conference champion Oklahoma City Thunder 4 games to 1 to win their second NBA title. Heat forward LeBron James was named the Finals MVP.

NBA Finals - 2006
The 2006 NBA Finals was the championship series of the 2005 - 2006 National Basketball Association season. The Miami Heat won the title in six games over the Dallas Mavericks, becoming the third team after the 1969 Celtics and the 1977 Trail Blazers to win a championship after trailing 0–2 in the series. Heat guard Dwyane Wade was named Most Valuable Player of the series.

LeBron Heads to Cleveland

On July 11, 2014 LeBron James announced he had decided to return to Cleveland leaving Wade and Bosh to continue on without him.

Much like the Cleveland Cavaliers during the 2010 off-season, the Heat focused on how it would maintain and remain a top contender without LeBron James. However, rather than firing key members and rebuilding, the Heat kept much of its roster together and re-tooled. Despite the departure of James, the off-season for the Heat marked the return of many key veterans and the arrival of new stars embarking on a hopeful note for the Heat. Chris Bosh signed to a hefty $115,000,000 contract for eight years. Dwyane Wade also re-signed for a two-year contract.

Heat Primary Logo History Heat Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History


Heat - In October 1986, the owners of Miami's expansion franchise selected Stephanie Freed's Heat submission from more than 20,000 entries, which also included Sharks, Tornadoes, Beaches, and Barracudas.

American Airlines Arena
2000 - present
Miami Arena
1988 - 2000

Micky Arison
1988 - present

Established: 1988

League History:
National Basketball Association
1988 - present

Team History:
Miami Heat
1988 - present

NBA Championships: 3
2013, 2012, 2006

Retired Numbers:
10 Tim Hardaway
23 Michael Jordan
32 Shaquille O'Neal
33 Alonzo Mourning

Mascots: 1991 - present

The Official Site of the Miami Heat

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code