Minnesota Twins

Minnesota Twins  

Twins Timeline


Washington Team Formation

When the American League declared itself a major league in 1901, the new league moved the previous Western League's Kansas City franchise to Washington, a city that had been abandoned by the National League a year earlier. The Washington club, like the old one, would be called the Senators.

The Senators began their history as a consistently losing team, at times so inept that San Francisco Chronicle columnist Charley Dryden joked: "Washington: First in war, first in peace, and last in the American League." The 1904 Senators lost 113 games, and the next season the team's owners, trying for a fresh start, changed the team's name to the Nationals. The Senators name remained widely used by fans and journalists in fact, the two names were used interchangeably although "Nats" remained the team's nickname. The Senators name was officially restored in 1956.

The Move to Minnesota

The Twins were eagerly greeted in Minnesota when they arrived in 1961. They brought a nucleus of talented players: Harmon Killebrew, Bob Allison, Camilo Pascual, Zoilo Versalles, Jim Kaat, Earl Battey, and Lenny Green. The Twins won 91 games in 1962, the most by the franchise since 1933. The Twins won 102 games and the American League Pennant in 1965, but they were defeated in the 1965 World Series by the Los Angeles Dodgers in seven games behind the World Series Most Valuable Player, Sandy Koufax, with a 2–1 record, including winning the seventh game.

Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome

In 1982, the Twins moved into the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, which they shared with the Minnesota Vikings, but the team continued to struggle. The Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, commonly called the Metrodome, was a domed sports stadium located in downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States. Opened in 1982, it replaced Metropolitan Stadium, which was on the current site of the Mall of America in Bloomington, and Memorial Stadium on the University of Minnesota campus.

World Series Winners - 3 World Series Wins

World Series - 1991
The 1991 World Series pitted the Minnesota Twins (95–67) of the American League against the Atlanta Braves (94–68) of the National League. The Minnesota Twins won in seven games. ESPN selected it as the "Greatest of All Time" in their "World Series 100th Anniversary" countdown, with five of its games being decided by a single run, four games decided in the final at-bat and three games going into extra innings. In addition to the suspense of the outcome of many of its games, the Series had other highlights. For example, the series-deciding seventh game was a scoreless tie (0–0) through the regular nine innings, and went into extra innings; Minnesota won the seventh game by a score of 1-0 in the 10th inning, with their starting pitcher, Jack Morris, pitching all ten innings (Morris was named Most Valuable Player for the Series). With 69 innings in total, the 1991 World Series holds the record for longest seven-game World Series ever (some of the early years had nine-game Series, extending longer).

World Series - 1987
The 1987 World Series was played by the Minnesota Twins and the St. Louis Cardinals. Minnesota was victorious in a World Series that was both the first to be played indoors, as well as the first in which the home team won every game. This happened again in 1991 (also a Twins championship) over the Atlanta Braves and in 2001 with the Arizona Diamondbacks defeating the New York Yankees.

World Series - 1924
In the 1924 World Series, the Washington Senators beat the New York Giants in seven games. The Giants became the first team to play in four consecutive World Series, winning in 1921 - 1922 and losing in 1923 - 1924. Their long-time manager, John McGraw, made his ninth and final World Series appearance in 1924. This was the second extra-inning World Series-deciding game (1912) and the last until 1991. The winning team of the 1991 World Series was the very same franchise, then (and now) known as the Minnesota Twins.

Target Field

In response to the threatened loss of the Twins, the Minnesota private and public sector negotiated and approved a financing package for a replacement stadium a baseball-only outdoor, natural turf ballpark in the Warehouse District of downtown Minneapolis owned by a new entity known as the Minnesota Ballpark Authority. Target Field was constructed at a cost of $544.4 million (including site acquisition and infrastructure), utilizing the proceeds of a $392 million public bond offering based on a 0.15 percent sales tax in Hennepin County and private financing of $185 million provided by the Pohlad family. As part of the deal, the Twins also signed a 30-year lease of the new stadium, effectively guaranteeing the continuation of the team in Minnesota for a long time to come. Construction of the new field began in 2007, and was completed in December 2009, in time for the 2010 season.

Twins Primary Logo History Twins Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History

Washington D.C. - Minneapolis

Twins - Minneapolis and St. Paul is commonly known as the "Twin Cities". The formal name of the team, which transferred from Washington, D.C., in 1961, was initially the Twin Cities Baseball Club, now known as Twins Sports, Inc. The club officials settled on Twins as the team nickname.

Target Field
2010 - present
Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
1982 - 2009
Metropolitan Stadium
1961 - 1981

*Washington D.C.*
Griffith Stadium
1911 - 1960
  • National Park
  • 1911 - 1920

National Park
1903 - 1910
American League Park
1901 - 1902

Jim Pohlad
2009 - present
Carl Pohlad
1984 - 2009
Calvin Griffith
1955 - 1984

Clark Griffith
1920 - 1955
Benjamin Minor
1912 - 1920
Thomas C. Noyes
1904 - 1912
Ban Johnson & Fred Postal
1901 - 1903

Established: 1901

League History:
Major League Baseball
2000 - present
American League
1901 - 1999

Team History:
Minnesota Twins
1961 - present

Washington Nationals/Senators
1901 - 1960

World Series: 3
1991, 1987, 1924

Retired Numbers:
3 Harmon Killebrew
6 Tony Oliva
10 Tom Kelly
14 Kent Hrbek
28 Bert Blyleven
29 Rod Carew
34 Kirby Puckett
42 Jackie Robinson

Mascots: 2000 - present

The Official Site of the Minnesota Twins

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code