Washington Redskins

Washington Redskins


Redskins Timeline


Boston Braves Team Formation

The city of Boston, Massachusetts, was awarded an NFL franchise on July 9, 1932, under the ownership of George Preston Marshall, Vincent Bendix, Jay O'Brien, and Dorland Doyle. They were given the nucleus of the defunct Newark Tornadoes which folded after the 1930 season and was sold back to the NFL; although none of the members of the 1930 Newark Tornadoes roster remained by the 1932 Boston Braves roster.

Redskins New Name

The team moved to Fenway Park (home of the Boston Red Sox) the next year, and Marshall changed the name to the "Redskins" apparently in honor of then coach Lone Star Dietz, a Native American, he claimed to be part Sioux, but his actual ancestry has been challenged.

Move to Washington D.C.

After the disappointing 1936 NFL title game, George Preston Marshall had the team moved to his home in Washington, D.C. on February 13, 1937, retaining the name "Redskins" although it was now out of context. They then shared Griffith Stadium with the Washington Senators baseball team.

First Marching Band

On August 9, 1937, the Redskins marching band was founded. The all-volunteer ensemble formed when Marshall brought the Redskins to Washington, with the goal of entertaining fans from the moment they walked into the stadium until the time they left it. The Redskins are now one of only two teams in the NFL with an official marching band. The other is the Baltimore Ravens.

Jack Kent Cooke Owner

In 1961, Jack Kent Cooke purchased a 25 percent interest in the Washington Redskins after team owner and founder George Preston Marshall became incapacitated by a stroke, becoming majority owner in 1974 and sole owner in 1985.

In 1997, Cooke completed a stadium deal near Landover, Maryland, for a new home for his team. This community was named Raljon—a name devised by Cooke by combining the names of his sons Ralph and John. Shortly afterwards, he died of cardiac arrest. The stadium was posthumously named Jack Kent Cooke Stadium, which was changed under subsequent ownership to FedExField in 1999.

3 Super Bowls Wins

Super Bowl XXVI - 1991
The Redskins defeated the Bills by the score of 37–24, becoming the fourth team after the Pittsburgh Steelers, the Oakland Raiders, and the San Francisco 49ers to win three Super Bowls. The Bills became the third team, after the Minnesota Vikings (Super Bowls VIII and IX) and the Denver Broncos (Super Bowls XXI and XXII), to lose back-to-back Super Bowls. The game was played on January 26, 1992 at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome in Minneapolis, Minnesota, the first and only time the Super Bowl was held in that city.

Super Bowl XXII - 1987
The Redskins defeated the Broncos by the score of 42–10, winning their second ever Super Bowl. The game was played on January 31, 1988 at Jack Murphy Stadium in San Diego, California, the first time that the Super Bowl was played in that city. Williams, who was named the Super Bowl MVP, completing 18 of 29 passes for a Super Bowl record 340 yards and four touchdowns, with one interception. He also became the first player in Super Bowl history to pass for four touchdowns in a single quarter, and four in a half. Williams was the first African American starting quarterback to win a Super Bowl. The 10-point deficit remains the largest deficit overcome by a Super Bowl victor.

Super Bowl XVII - 1982
The Redskins defeated the Dolphins by the score of 27–17 to win their first Super Bowl. The game was played on January 30, 1983 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California. Riggins was named Super Bowl MVP. He finished the game with 2 Super Bowl records: the most rushing yards in a Super Bowl game (166), and the most rushing attempts (38). His performance was also his fourth 100-yard rushing game in a row in a postseason game, a postseason record. Riggins also recorded a reception for 15 yards, giving him more total yards than the entire Miami team.

Daniel Snyder Takes Control

In his will, Cooke left the team and stadium to his foundation with instructions to sell it. Cooke's son, John Kent Cooke, tried to put in a competitive bid to keep the team in the family, but it instead went to local businessman Daniel Snyder and his associates for a record-setting $800 million.

In May 1999, Snyder purchased the Redskins and Jack Kent Cooke Stadium (now FedExField) for $800 million following the death of previous owner Jack Kent Cooke. At the time, it was the most expensive transaction in sporting history. The deal was financed largely through borrowed money, including $340 million borrowed from Société Générale and $155 million debt assumed on the stadium. Annual loan servicing costs are an estimated $50 million. In order to pay down the team's debt, in 2003 he sold 15% of the team to real estate developer Dwight Schar for $200 million, 15% to Florida financier Robert Rothman for a like amount; and 5% to Frederick W. Smith, the founder of Federal Express, leaving him with a 65% ownership interest.

Redskins Primary Logo History Redskins Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History

Boston - Washingtion D.C.

Redskins - The "Redskins" name was retained when the team was moved to Washington in 1937.

FedEx Field
2000 - present
  • Jack Kent Cooke Stadium
  • 1997 - 1999
RFK Stadium
1969 - 1996
  • D.C. Stadium
  • 1961 - 1968

Griffith Stadium
1937 - 1960

Fenway Park
1933 - 1936
Braves Field

Daniel Snyder
1999 - present
Jack Kent Cooke foundation
1997 - 1999
Jack Kent Cooke
1985 - 1997
Jack Kent Cooke and Edward Bennett Williams
1974 - 1985
Edward Bennett Williams
1969 - 1974
George Preston Marshall
1932 - 1969

Established: 1932

League History:
National Football League
1932 - present

Team History:
Washington Redskins
1937 - present

Boston Redskins
1933 - 1936
Boston Braves

Super Bowl: 3
1991, 1987, 1982
NFL Championships: 2
1942, 1937

Retired Numbers:
33 Sammy Baugh

No Mascot

The Official Site of the Washington Redskins

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code