Texas Baseball World Series Champs 2005

2005 - 2005 Texas Baseball College World Series Champs

The 2005 NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament was held from May 30 through June 26, 2005. Sixty-four NCAA Division I college baseball teams met after having played their way through a regular season, and for some, a conference tournament, to play in the NCAA Tournament. The tournament culminated with 8 teams in the College World Series at historic Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Nebraska.

A major format change for the regionals began in 2005. Rather than play both games of the championship round on the third day (usually Sunday) of the tournament, the “if necessary” championship game would be played on the fourth day of the tournament (usually Monday), allowing a team in the loser’s bracket to rest some of its pitchers for a winner-take-all contest.

The home-state Nebraska Cornhuskers won their first College World Series game after going winless in their previous two appearances.

Texas went undefeated in the College World Series, earning its spot in the championship series with a walk-off home run against Big 12 Conference rival Baylor, before sweeping Florida in the championship series.