1931 - Early Era of Louisiana–Monroe Warhawks

What is now Louisiana–Monroe originally competed as a junior college from 1931 through 1950. In 1951 the Indians completed their first season in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) as Northeast Louisiana State College. The team’s head coach was James L. Malone, who compiled a record of 12–15 in three seasons. Malone resigned after the 1953 season, and Malone Stadium where the team plays its home games was named in his honor. Succeeding Malone was Devone Payne, who coached Northeast Louisiana for three seasons, from 1954 to 1957. His record was 15–22–1. The program’s third head coach was Jack Rowan, who led the team to a 20–37 record in six seasons. LSU offensive line coach Dixie White took over as the school’s fourth head coach in 1963. White also served as the school’s athletics director during this time. Northeast Louisiana compiled a record of 31–45–1 during White’s tenure. Memphis assistant coach Ollie Keller was selected to succeed White as Northeast Louisiana’s head coach, and under his tutelage, the Indians compiled a record of 14–24–3. Keller resigned after four seasons.

Coach Crow
Former Heisman Trophy winning quarterback John David Crow led the Northeast Louisiana Indians football program for five seasons, including a winning 6–4–1 mark in 1978 and another winning mark in 1980, a 7–4 campaign.