final-gamer-UConn vs SDSD

2023 - Number 5 NCAA Championship for the Huskies

The 2023 NCAA Division I men’s basketball tournament involved 68 teams playing in a single-elimination tournament that determined the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I men’s basketball national champion for the 2022–23 season. The 84th annual edition of the tournament began on March 14, 2023. It concluded with the Connecticut Huskies defeating the San Diego State Aztecs, 76–59, in the championship game on April 3 at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas.

The Huskies have won 5 NCAA tournament championships (1999, 2004, 2011, 2014, and 2023), which puts the program in a tie with Duke and Indiana for fourth-most all-time. The Huskies are second in Big East tournament championships with seven, trailing only Georgetown (8). The Huskies have the most Big East regular season titles with ten and one American Athletic Conference tournament championship. Numerous players have achieved professional success after their time at UConn, including Clifford Robinson, Ray Allen, Richard Hamilton, Caron Butler, Ben Gordon, Emeka Okafor, Rudy Gay, Charlie Villanueva, Kemba Walker, Shabazz Napier, Jeremy Lamb, and Andre Drummond. The Huskies have participated in 6 NCAA Final Fours (tied for 10th all-time) and appeared in the NCAA tournament 33 times. The team has been a number-one seed in the NCAA Tournament 5 times, most recently in 2009.