Edmonton Oilers

  Edmonton Oilers  

Oilers Timeline


Edmonton Oilers Team Formation

On November 1, 1971, the Edmonton Oilers became one of the 12 founding WHA franchises. The original team owner was Bill Hunter. Hunter owned the Edmonton Oil Kings, a junior hockey franchise. Hunter's efforts to bring major professional hockey to Edmonton via an expansion NHL franchise had been rebuffed by the NHL. So, he looked to the upstart WHA instead.

Joining the NHL

The Oilers joined the National Hockey League for 1979 - 1980, along with fellow WHA teams Hartford Whalers, Quebec Nordiques, and the Jets following a merger agreement between the two leagues. Of these four teams, only Edmonton has avoided relocation and renaming; the Nordiques became the Colorado Avalanche in 1995, the Jets became the Phoenix Coyotes in 1996, and the Whalers became the Carolina Hurricanes in 1997.

Wayne Gretzky

Gretzky break his own assists record three more times (125 in 1982–83, 135 in 1984–85, and 163 in 1985–86); he also bettered that mark (120 assists) in 1986–87 with 121 and 1990–91 with 122, and his point record one more time (215, in 1985–86). By the time he finished playing in Edmonton, he held or shared 49 NHL records, which in itself was a record. The Edmonton Oilers finished first overall in their last WHA regular season. The same success was not immediate when they joined the NHL, but within four seasons, the Oilers were competing for the Stanley Cup. The Oilers were a young, strong team featuring, in addition to Gretzky, future Hall of Famers including forwards Mark Messier, Glenn Anderson and Jari Kurri, defenceman Paul Coffey, and goaltender Grant Fuhr. Gretzky was its captain from 1983–88. In 1983, they made it to the Stanley Cup Final, only to be swept by the three-time defending champion New York Islanders. The following season, the Oilers met the Islanders in the Final again, this time winning the Stanley Cup, their first of five in seven years.

Trading Gretzky

In a surprising and shocking trade, Gretzky, along with enforcer Marty McSorley and centre Mike Krushelnyski, were traded to the Los Angeles Kings on August 9, 1988. In exchange, the Oilers received $15 million US cash, young star Jimmy Carson, 1988 first round draft choice Martin Gelinas, and the Kings' first round draft picks in 1989, 1991, and 1993. The trade occurred because Pocklington didn't want to risk Gretzky leaving Edmonton without getting anything in return. Gretzky had converted his personal services contract with Pocklington into a standard five-year player's contract with the Oilers in the summer of 1987 with an option to declare himself an unrestricted free agent after the 1988 - 1989 season. During the 1987 - 1988 season, Pocklington had approached Gretzky about renegotiating the contract, but Gretzky, unwilling to give up his chance at free agency, refused, which ultimately led to the trade. None of this was public knowledge at the time.

Stanley Cup Winners - 5 Stanley Cup Wins

Stanley Cup - 1990
The 1990 Stanley Cup Playoffs for the National Hockey League (NHL) championship began on April 5, 1990, following the 1989 - 1990 regular season. The sixteen teams that qualified, from the top four teams of the four divisions, played best-of-seven series with re-seeding after the division finals. The Conference Champions played a best-of-seven series for the Stanley Cup.

Stanley Cup - 1988
The 1988 Stanley Cup playoffs, the championship of the National Hockey League (NHL), began on April 6, after the conclusion of the 1987 - 1988 NHL season. It concluded on May 26, with the defending champion Edmonton Oilers defeating the Boston Bruins to win their second straight Stanley Cup and fourth in five years.

Stanley Cup - 1987
The 1987 Stanley Cup playoffs, the championship of the National Hockey League (NHL) began on April 8, after the conclusion of the 1986 - 1987 NHL season. It concluded on May 31, with the Edmonton Oilers defeating the Philadelphia Flyers to win the Stanley Cup. In an attempt to reduce the number of first round upsets, the NHL expanded the best-of-five series in the first round to a best-of-seven series.

Stanley Cup - 1985
The 1984 - 1985 NHL season was the 68th season of the National Hockey League. The Edmonton Oilers won their second straight Stanley Cup by beating the Philadelphia Flyers four games to one in the final series.

Stanley Cup - 1984
The 1984 Stanley Cup playoffs, the championship of the National Hockey League (NHL) began on April 4, after the conclusion of the 1983 - 1984 NHL season. The playoffs concluded on May 19 with the champion Edmonton Oilers defeating the New York Islanders 5–2 to win the Final series four games to one and win the Stanley Cup, the franchise's first Stanley Cup.

Oilers Primary Logo History Oilers Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History


Oilers - Original owner Bill Hunter previously owned a junior club called the Oil Kings in the 1950s and 1960s, with Oilers being a popular nickname for the team. When he founded the Edmonton franchise in the World Hockey Association in 1972, he named the club Oilers.

Rogers Place 
2016 - present
Rexall Place
2003 - 2016
  • Skyreach Centre
  • 1998 - 2003
  • Edmonton Coliseum
  • 1995 - 1998
  • Northlands Coliseum
  • 1974 - 1995

Edmonton Gardens
1972 - 1974

Daryl Katz
2008 - present
Edmonton Investors Group Limited Partnership
1998 - 2008
Peter Pocklington
1979 - 1998
Bill Hunter
1972 - 1979

Established: 1972

League History:
National Hockey League
1979 - present
World Hockey Association
1972 - 1979

Team History:
Edmonton Oilers
1972 - present

Stanley Cups: 5
1989 - 1990, 1987 - 1988, 1986 - 1987, 1984 - 1985, 1983 - 1984

Retired Numbers:
3 Al Hamilton
7 Paul Coffey
9 Glenn Anderson
11 Mark Messier
17 Jari Kurri
31 Grant Fuhr
99 Wayne Gretzky

No Mascot

The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code