CFL Greatest Player

CFL Logo
Greatest Player Poll 350

Who is the greatest player in the CFL of All-time?

These 20 CFL players were pulled from the article "TSN Top 50 CFL Players" See the article

Sports Fan Products

The Greatest CFL Player

Determining the greatest CFL player of all time is no easy task, as there have been numerous incredible athletes who have left a lasting impact on the league. Among the notable names mentioned, Doug Flutie, Damon Allen, Brian Kelly, Jackie Parker, Ron Lancaster, and Warren Moon, each player brings their own unique strengths and contributions to the table. Let's take a closer look at their achievements and contributions to help decide which player deserves the coveted title of "The Greatest CFL Player."

Doug Flutie is widely regarded as one of the most exciting and dynamic quarterbacks in CFL history. With his exceptional athleticism and playmaking ability, Flutie led the Calgary Stampeders to back-to-back Grey Cup victories in 1992 and 1996. He also won the CFL's Most Outstanding Player Award a remarkable six times, showcasing his consistent excellence on the field.

Damon Allen, a quarterback known for his longevity and durability, holds several CFL records, including the most career passing yards and touchdowns. Allen's ability to lead his teams to victory was evident throughout his career, winning four Grey Cup championships and earning the CFL's Most Outstanding Player Award in 2005.

Brian Kelly and Jackie Parker were both exceptional receivers in their respective eras. Kelly, a member of the Edmonton Eskimos dynasty in the late 1970s, won five Grey Cups and was known for his exceptional speed and route-running ability. Parker, a versatile player who excelled at multiple positions, was a key figure in the Edmonton Eskimos' success in the 1950s and 1960s, winning six Grey Cups and earning the CFL's Most Outstanding Player Award twice.

Ron Lancaster, often referred to as "The Little General," was a highly accomplished quarterback and coach. As a player, he led the Saskatchewan Roughriders to their first-ever Grey Cup victory in 1966 and had a successful career that spanned two decades. After retiring as a player, Lancaster went on to become a successful coach, further solidifying his legacy in the league.

Warren Moon, although he spent the majority of his career in the NFL, had a short but impactful stint in the CFL. Moon, a quarterback known for his strong arm and leadership, led the Edmonton Eskimos to an impressive five consecutive Grey Cup victories from 1978 to 1982. His dominance on the field and ability to elevate his team's performance cannot be overlooked.

Ultimately, determining the greatest CFL player of all time is subjective and open to interpretation. Each of these players has left an indelible mark on the league, and their accomplishments and contributions deserve recognition. It is a testament to the CFL's rich history that there are so many exceptional players to consider.

STH Greatest Player Polls Banner