2007 - Red Wolves (Howl) Mascot Selection

A panel selecting the new nickname first narrowed the list down to twelve finalists: A’s, Black Wolves, Red Wolves, Diamonds, Express, Mallards, Mustangs, Red Dragons, Red Storm, Ridge Runners, Ridge Riders and Thunderbirds. A meeting was held on December 3, 2007, to review the list, which was narrowed in January 2008 to Red Wolves, Ridge Riders or Express Train.

On January 31, 2008, Arkansas State University’s Mascot Selection Steering Committee decided to use the Red Wolves as a mascot. Arkansas State officially retired the Indian mascot on February 28, 2008, during the last home basketball game of the season. The roll-out ceremony for the new Red Wolves logo was held on March 13.