STH News - Undefeated Football

Undefeated College Football Teams Since 2006

The latest undefeated college football team to become national champions was the Georgia Bulldogs in the 2022/23 season. The Dawgs were the fourth team in history to finish the season at 15-0. Penn State was the first college team to finish a season and win the championship with 15-0 in 1897. Astonishingly, since 1897, only three other undefeated college football teams have finished with a 15-0 record and then go on to win, and they’ve all come in the last five years: 2018, 2019, and 2022.

What College Football Teams Went Undefeated Last Season?

For the 2023/24 season, American sportsbooks offered odds for college football teams to finish the regular season undefeated. Ahead of the season, US oddsmakers predicted that Florida was the most likely team to finish the regular season undefeated, at a -165 odds. Ultimately, they finished with a 13-0 record and won the Atlantic Coast Conference. Despite their success, they were snubbed from the playoffs due to unfortunate circumstances. 

There’s a recent trend of undefeated college teams winning the NCAA championship, judging by the Florida Seminoles' record in 2023 and the string of 15-0 finishes over the past five years. But how does that stack up historically? The NCAA has changed significantly over the years. We’ve made a cut-off date in 2006, relating to the latest change, reflecting the current highest NCAA category: NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).

What college teams have been undefeated as national champions since 2006?

In our list, ties do not count against an undefeated season, and Southern California in 2004 is not included because the season was vacated.

2022: Georgia 15-0

The 2022 Bulldogs achieved a remarkable feat by ending the season with an impressive 15-0 record, making them only the third team in the modern era to accomplish this alongside the 2019 LSU Tigers and the 2018 Clemson Tigers. By defeating TCU convincingly and securing back-to-back national titles, they marked themselves as the first team since the 2012 Alabama Crimson Tide to successfully defend their status as national champions.

2020: Alabama 13-0

While concluding the season with a flawless 13-0 record (10-0 in the SEC), the Crimson Tide secured victories against five Top-25 ranked teams on their journey. Subsequently, Alabama faced off against Ohio State in the College Football Playoff National Championship Game, successfully thwarting the Buckeyes and clinching their third CFP title in seven years.

2019: LSU 15-0

Under the leadership of Heisman-winning quarterback Joe Burrow, LSU's record-setting offense secured victories against top-ten-ranked teams such as Texas, Florida, Auburn, and Alabama. Their triumph over Clemson in the CFP title game marked them as only the second undefeated team in the CFP era and the second 15-0 season in the modern era.

2018: Clemson 15-0

Clemson Tigers 2018
Under the leadership of Dabo Swinney, the Clemson Tigers have achieved a resounding victory by defeating Alabama 44-16, securing their second National Championship in three years. In doing so, they made the historic accomplishment of becoming the first team in modern college football to win the championship with an undefeated 15-0 record.

2013: Florida State 14-0

The Seminoles achieved a perfect 14-0 record, clinching the national championship and arguably delivering one of the most dominant regular season performances in the modern era of college football. Florida State showcased its prowess by winning 13 games with a margin of at least 14 points and triumphing in 12 games by at least four touchdowns. The team boasted standout individuals, including the runaway Heisman Trophy winner, freshman quarterback Jameis Winston, a unanimous All-American at defensive back in Lamarcus Joyner, and the Lou Groza Award winner, freshman Roberto Aguayo.

2010: Auburn 14-0

In a standout performance, junior quarterback Cam Newton was the third Auburn player to clinch the Heisman trophy. His leadership was pivotal in guiding the Tigers to a flawless 12-0 regular season, culminating in a triumphant victory over Oregon in the BCS National Championship Game. Newton's exceptional contributions were highlighted by leading the nation in touchdowns, with an impressive tally of 30 passing touchdowns and 20 rushing touchdowns.

2009: Alabama 14-0

Under the guidance of head coach Nick Saban, the 2009 Alabama Crimson Tide marked the initiation of a successful era with the first of five national championships. This team was only the third of five 14-0 teams since 1895. The roster boasted elite talent, including notable names for diehard Alabama fans such as Julio Jones, Javier Arenas, Courtney Upshaw, Rolando McClain, Terrence Cody, Barrett Jones, and AJ McCarron.

For the 2023/24 season, it remains to be seen how many undefeated college teams will stay and if any of the remaining five can go on to win the national championship.


Sports Team History is your ultimate destination to explore the rich heritage and iconic logos of professional sports teams across MLB, MLS, NBA, NCAA, NFL, NHL, Premier League, WNBA, XFL, ABA, AAF, and USFL. Immerse yourself in the captivating tales and memorable moments that have shaped each team's legacy.

But that's not all! At Sports Team History, we believe in celebrating the exceptional talents that have graced the sports world. That's why we're thrilled to announce our upcoming "Greatest Player Poll" where fans like you can cast your votes and have your say in determining the greatest players of all time in various sports.

Our partner site, Sports Logo History, offers a vibrant community of logo enthusiasts who appreciate the evolution of team visual identities. Dive into detailed analysis and discussions surrounding logos representing the teams we love. Stay updated with Sports News History, providing 24/7 sports news coverage to keep you informed and engaged with the latest developments. Lastly, explore the premier sports team marketplace at Sports Store History, where you'll find a wide selection of jerseys, caps, and collectibles to showcase your team spirit. Embark on a journey through time, celebrate team logos, stay informed with the latest news, and discover unique sports memorabilia to enhance your collection. Let Sports Team History fuel your passion for sports.