St. Louis Browns

St. Louis Browns Logo

Orioles Timeline


Milwaukee Brewers Team Formation

The modern Orioles franchise can trace its roots back to the original Milwaukee Brewers of the minor Western League, beginning in 1894 when the league reorganized. The Brewers were there when the WL renamed itself the American League in 1900.

Move to St. Louis

In 1902, however, the team did move to St. Louis, where it became the "Browns", in reference to the original name of the legendary 1880s club that by 1902 was known as the Cardinals. In their first St. Louis season, the Browns finished second. Although they usually fielded terrible or mediocre teams they had only four winning seasons from 1901 to 1922, they were very popular at the gate.

On To Baltimore

The Miles-Krieger (Gunther Brewing Company) - Hoffberger group renamed their new team the Baltimore Orioles soon after taking control of the franchise. The name has a rich history in Baltimore, having been used by a National League team in the 1890s. In 1901, Baltimore and McGraw were awarded an expansion franchise in the growing American League, naming the team the Orioles. The team was transferred to New York in 1903, becoming the New York Yankees. As a member of the high-minor league level International League, the Orioles competed at what is now known as the AAA level from 1903 to 1953. Their large postseason crowds at their temporary home, Municipal Stadium, caught the attention of the major leagues, leading to a new MLB franchise in Baltimore.

World Series Winners - 3 World Series Wins

World Series - 1983
The 1983 World Series matched the American League champion Baltimore Orioles against the National League champion Philadelphia Phillies, with the Orioles winning four games to one. "The I-95 Series", like the World Series two years later, also took its nickname from the interstate that the teams and fans traveled on, Interstate 95 in this case. This was the last World Series that Bowie Kuhn presided over as commissioner.

World Series - 1970
The 1970 World Series matched the American League champion Baltimore Orioles (108-54 in the regular season) against the National League champion Cincinnati Reds (102-60), with the Orioles winning in five games. This was the last World Series in which all games were played in the afternoon.

World Series - 1966
The 1966 World Series matched the Baltimore Orioles against the defending champion Los Angeles Dodgers, with the Orioles sweeping the Series in four games to capture their first championship in franchise history. It was also the last World Series played before MLB introduced the Commissioner's Trophy the following year.

Camden Yards Opens

Opening to much fanfare in 1992, Oriole Park at Camden Yards was an instant success, spawning other retro-designed major league ballparks within the next two decades. The stadium became the site of the 1993 All-Star Game. The Orioles returned to contention in those first two seasons at Camden Yards, only to finish in third place both times.

Angelos Takes Over

Also in 1993, with then-owner Eli Jacobs forced to divest himself of the franchise, Baltimore-based attorney Peter Angelos was awarded the Orioles in bankruptcy court, returning the team to local ownership for the first time since 1979.

Ripken Breaks the Streak

The Ripken countdown resumed once the season began. Ripken finally broke Lou Gehrig's consecutive games streak of 2,130 games in a nationally televised game on September 6. This was later voted the all-time baseball moment of the 20th century by fans from around the country in 1999. Ripken finished his streak with 2,632 straight games, finally sitting on September 20, 1998, the Orioles final home game of the season against the Yankees at Camden Yards.

Browns Primary Logo History Browns Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History

Milwaukee - St. Louis - Baltimore

Browns - Their name the "Browns", is in reference to the original name of the 1880s baseball club that by 1900 was known as the Cardinals.

Oriole Park at Camden Yards
1992 - present
Memorial Stadium
1954 - 1991

*St. Louis*
Sportsman's Park 
1902 - 1953

Lloyd Street Grounds
1895 - 1901
Borchert Field

Peter Angelos
1993 - present
Eli Jacobs
1989 - 1993
Edward Bennett Williams
1979 - 1988
Jerold Hoffberger
1965 - 1979
Jerold Hoffberger & Joe Iglehart
1959 - 1965
Jerold Hoffberger & James Keelty
1955 - 1959
Jerold Hoffberger & Clarence Miles
1954 - 1955
Bill Veeck
1951 - 1953
Bill DeWitt
1948 - 1951
Richard Muckerman
1945 - 1948
Donald Lee Barnes
1936 - 1945
Phil Ball
1915 - 1933
Robert Hedges
1902 - 1915

Henry Killilea
1894 - 1902

Established: 1894

League History:
Major League Baseball
2000 - present
American League
1900 - 1999

Western League
1894 - 1900

Team History:
Baltimore Orioles
1954 - present
St. Louis Browns
1902 - 1953

Milwaukee Brewers
1894 - 1901

World Series: 3
1983, 1970, 1966

Retired Numbers:
1 Earl Weaver
5 Brooks Robinson
8 Cal Ripken, Jr.
20 Frank Robinson
22 Jim Palmer
33 Eddie Murray
42 Jackie Robinson

  *Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code