Minnesota Vikings

  Minnesota Vikings  


Vikings Timeline


Minnesota Vikings Team Formation

The team was officially named the Minnesota Vikings on September 27, 1960; the name is partly meant to reflect Minnesota's place as a center of Scandinavian American culture. From the start, the Vikings embraced an energetic marketing program that produced first-year season ticket sales of nearly 26,000 and an average home attendance of 34,586, about 85 percent of Metropolitan Stadium's capacity of 40,800. Eventually, the capacity of Met Stadium was increased to 47,900.

Metropolitan Stadium

Metropolitan Stadium (often referred to as "the Met", "the Ice Palace" when the Minnesota Vikings played, "Met Stadium", or now "the Old Met" to distinguish from the Metrodome) was a sports stadium that once stood in Bloomington, Minnesota, just outside Minneapolis. The area where the stadium once stood is now the site of the Mall of America. The Minnesota Twins and the Minnesota Vikings then played at the "Met" from 1961 to 1981.

Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome

As the stadium was designed first and foremost for the Minnesota Vikings, they had the fewest problems. However, the economics of 21st century professional sports meant that the Vikings owners wanted more luxury suites and better concessions. Renovations were rejected twice, with the 2001 price tag at $269 million.

The Vikings played their first game at the Metrodome in a preseason matchup against the Seattle Seahawks on August 21, 1982. Minnesota won 7-3. The first touchdown in the dome was scored by Joe Senser on an 11-yard pass from Tommy Kramer. The first regular-season game at the Metrodome was the 1982 opener on September 12, when the Vikings defeated Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 17-10. Rickey Young scored the first regular-season touchdown in the dome on a 3-yard run in the 2nd quarter. On January 9, 1983, the Vikings defeated the Atlanta Falcons, 30-24, in a 1st-round game that was the first playoff game at the Metrodome. On January 17, 1999, the Falcons defeated the Vikings in the first NFC championship game played at the dome. On December 29, 2013, the Vikings played their final game at the Metrodome, a 14-13 victory over the Detroit Lions. The team's all time record at the dome was 162-88 in the regular season and 6-4 in playoff games.

Red McCombs Owner

In 1998, Red McCombs bought the Minnesota Vikings for US$250 million. After an unsuccessful attempt to replace the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome, McCombs sold the team to new owner Zygi Wilf before the 2005 football season.

Zygi Wilf Owner

Wilf and five partners purchased the Minnesota Vikings of the National Football League from Red McCombs in 2005 for a reported US$600 million. Forbes estimates the 2014 value of the franchise at US$1.007 billion, or 21st of the 32 NFL teams.

For several years the Vikings and Wilf have stated that their former home, the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome was inadequate and had lobbied for a new stadium. In May 2012, the Minnesota Vikings moved closer to getting a new $975 million stadium after the state Senate approved a plan that relies heavily on public financing. Later that month the deal was signed by Gov. Mark Dayton and narrowly approved by the Minneapolis City Council, ending any speculation of relocation.

Vikings Primary Logo History Vikings Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History


Vikings - Bert Rose, Minnesota’s general manager when it joined the NFL in 1961, recommended the nickname to the team’s Board of Directors because “it represented both an aggressive person with the will to win and the Nordic tradition in the northern Midwest.” The expansion franchise also became the first pro sports team to feature its home state, rather than a city, in the team name.

U.S. Bank Stadium
2016 - present
TCF Bank Stadium
2014 - 2015

  • Mall of America Field at Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome
  • 1982 - 2016

Metropolitan Stadium
1961 - 1981

Zygi Wilf and family, and Reggie Fowler
2005 - present
Red McCombs
1998 - 2005
Roger Headrick
1991 - 1998
Skoglund, Winter, Ridder, Carl Pohlad, and Irwin Jacobs
1988 - 1991
Skoglund, Winter, and Ridder
1976 - 1988
Skoglund, Winter, Ridder, and Haugsrud
1972 - 1976
Bill Boyer, H. P. Skoglund, Max Winter, Bernie Ridder, and Ole Haugsrud
1961 - 1972


Established: 1961

League History:
National Football League
1961 - present

Team History:
Minnesota Vikings
1961 - present

Super Bowl: 0

Retired Numbers:
10 Fran Tarkenton
53 Mick Tingelhoff
70 Jim Marshall
77 Korey Stringer
80 Cris Carter
88 Alan Page

Mascots: 2008 - present 1994 - present

The Official Site of the Minnesota Vikings

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code