Phoenix Suns

  Phoenix Suns  

Suns Timeline


Phoenix Team Formation

The Suns were one of two franchises to join the NBA at the start of the 1968 - 1969 season, alongside the Milwaukee Bucks. They were the first major professional sports franchise in the state of Arizona, and would be the only one for twenty years until the Cardinals of the National Football League relocated from St. Louis in 1988. The team played its first 24 seasons at Arizona Veterans Memorial Coliseum, located northwest of downtown Phoenix. The franchise was formed by an ownership group led by local businessmen Karl Eller, Don Pitt, Don Diamond, Bhavik Darji, Marvin Meyer, and Richard Bloch, and also part of the group were entertainers Andy Williams, Bobbie Gentry and Ed Ames.

Jerry Colangelo New Owner

In 1968, he left the Bulls and was hired as the first general manager of the expansion team, the Phoenix Suns. He was the youngest general manager in professional sports. When he and his family left for Arizona, he had $200 in his wallet.

General manager Jerry Colangelo lead a group that bought the team from its owners for $44 million, a record at that time.

In April 2004, Colangelo sold the Suns, Mercury and Rattlers to an investment group headed by San Diego, California businessman, Tucson, Arizona native Robert Sarver for $401 million. The sale allegedly came in part to keep his family from having to pay high estate taxes upon Colangelo's death.

Talking Stick Resort Arena

Talking Stick Resort Arena (formerly America West Arena and US Airways Center) is a sports and entertainment arena in downtown Phoenix, Arizona. It opened on June 6, 1992, at a construction cost of $89 million.

Renovations were completed in March 2003, which feature a 16,000-square-foot air-conditioned glass-enclosed atrium built on the northwest side of the arena, to keep patrons cool while waiting in line for tickets or spending time inside the building before events. The total cost was estimated at around $67 million. The upgrading of US Airways Center was done as part of the Phoenix Suns' plan to keep it economically competitive after Arena opened. Former Suns owner Jerry Colangelo originally thought of the renovations after visiting Staples Center in Los Angeles and envisioned a similar entertainment district in Phoenix.

New Owner Robert Sarver

The beginning of 2004 saw the departure of the face of Suns management since the team's inception, when Jerry Colangelo announced that the Phoenix Suns were to be sold to an investment group headed by San Diego-based business executive (and Tucson native) Robert Sarver for $401 million. However, the 2004 - 2005 season marked the Suns' return to the NBA's elite, finishing with the best record at 62-20, and tying a franchise record set by the 1992 - 1993 team. This was a major, major improvement from its 29-53 record just the season before.

Waiting for the News

Waiting for the next big Phoenix Suns news.

Suns Primary Logo History Suns Alternate Logo History No Wordmark Logo History


Team Information Team History


Suns - The Suns nickname was among 28,000 entries that were formally chosen in a "Name the Team" contest sponsored by the Arizona Republic; the winner was awarded $1,000 and season tickets to the inaugural season. Suns was preferred to Scorpions, Rattlers, Thunderbirds, Wranglers, Mavericks, Tumbleweeds, Mustangs and Cougars.

Talking Stick Resort Arena
2015 - present

  • US Airways Center
  • 2006 - 2015
  • America West Arena
  • 1992 - 2006

Arizona Veterans Memorial Coliseum
1968 - 1992

Robert Sarver
2004 - present
Jerry Colangelo
1987 - 2004
Karl Eller, Andy Williams, Bobbie Gentry and Ed Ames
1968 - 1986

Established: 1968

League History:
National Basketball Association
1968 - present

Team History:
Phoenix Suns
1968 - present

NBA Championships: 0

Retired Numbers:
5 Dick Van Arsdale
6 Walter Davis
7 Kevin Johnson
9 Dan Majerle
13 Steve Nash
24 Tom Chambers
33 Alvan Adams
34 Charles Barkley
42 Connie Hawkins
44 Paul Westphal
- Jerry Colangelo
- Cotton Fitzsimmons
- John MacLeod
- Joe Proski

Mascots: 1980 - present

The Official Site of the Phoenix Suns

*Red is this team's history

Add comment

Security code