Houston Astros World Series 2022

2022 - Astros No-Hitter World Series Win in 2022

The 2022 World Series was the championship series of Major League Baseball’s (MLB) 2022 season. The 118th edition of the World Series was a best-of-seven playoff between the American League (AL) champion Houston Astros and the National League (NL) champion Philadelphia Phillies. The Astros defeated the Phillies in six games to earn their second championship. The series was broadcast on Fox television and ESPN Radio in the United States.

The Houston Astros entered the 2022 MLB postseason as the AL West champions and the top-seeded AL team, while the Phillies won a wild card, earning the sixth and final NL playoff berth. The Phillies took a 2–1 lead after three games before the Astros won the final three games to win the series. Jeremy Peña won the World Series Most Valuable Player Award.

The series was notable for having the first World Series no-hitter since Don Larsen’s perfect game in the 1956 World Series, when Astros pitchers Cristian Javier (starting pitcher), Bryan Abreu, Rafael Montero, and Ryan Pressly achieved a combined no-hitter in Game 4. It was also the third post-season no-hitter in MLB history, after Roy Halladay’s no-hitter in Game 1 of the 2010 National League Division Series.

MLB sold presenting sponsorships to all of the postseason series for the sixth straight year. As a result of a new multi-year agreement with Capital One, this World Series was officially known as the 2022 World Series presented by Capital One.