Braves Masthead

1932 - Boston Braves Team Formation

The city of Boston, Massachusetts, was awarded an NFL franchise on July 9, 1932, under the ownership of George Preston Marshall, Vincent Bendix, Jay O’Brien, and Dorland Doyle. They were given the nucleus of the defunct Newark Tornadoes which folded after the 1930 season and was sold back to the NFL; although none of the members of the 1930 Newark Tornadoes roster remained by the 1932 Boston Braves roster.