Minnesota United FC players

2015 - Minnesota United FC Team Formation

On March 25, 2015, Major League Soccer commissioner Don Garber announced Minnesota United as the league’s 23rd club and awarded the franchise to a group led by McGuire. The ownership group includes other Minneapolis-St. Paul sports owners, Twins owner Jim Pohlad, Timberwolves owner Glen Taylor, and Wild investor Glen Nelson. They beat out a competing bid by Minnesota Vikings owners Mark and Zygi Wilf (both of whom would later become minority owners of MLS expansion franchise Nashville SC). Garber said Minnesota would begin to play in 2017 or 2018 – if Los Angeles FC was not ready to play in 2017, Minnesota would take its place.