1990 - Toledo Basketball wins its third MAC championship

In 1990, the Toledo Rockets men’s basketball team won its third Mid-American Conference (MAC) championship and made its third appearance in the NCAA Tournament. Coached by Gary Colson, the Rockets finished the regular season with a 20-9 record and a 14-4 record in MAC play.

The Rockets were led by All-MAC first-team guard Jay Lehman, who averaged 16.9 points per game, and All-MAC second-team forward Jim Schaffer, who averaged 13.2 points and 7.3 rebounds per game.

Toledo earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament by winning the MAC tournament. In the first round, they faced the Arizona Wildcats, led by future NBA players Sean Elliott and Anthony Cook. Despite a valiant effort, the Rockets were defeated by Arizona 80-73 in a closely contested game.

The 1990 season marked the third time the Toledo men’s basketball team had won the MAC championship and made it to the NCAA Tournament. While they could not advance past the first round, the Rockets’ success in the 1990 season helped solidify their position as a top program in the conference.